WIBW-TV Daily Program Log for July 31st, 1967

This 40-year-old 50-year-old historical artifact comes courtesy of Matt. It’s a daily program log for station WIBW-TV (Channel 13) in Topeka, Kansas. Specifically, it’s the daily program log for Monday, July 31st, 1967.

Take a look:

Scan of a daily program log for WIBW-TV in Topeka, Kansas.

Page from the July 31st, 1967 daily program log for WIBW-TV (Channel 13) in Topeka, Kansas.
Click on the image for a larger version.
Courtesy of Matt. Copyright © 1967 WIBW-TV

Matt found the mimeographed document tucked inside an old electronics book or magazine. A ham radio operator, he happened to mention at a club meeting how much he enjoys reading old issues of ham radio magazines and old electronics books. Before he knew it, he had more books and magazines than he knew what to do with. He found this sheet while reading through everything he’d been given.

Unfortunately, it’s just one page from the daily program log for July 31st, 1967. It covers a single hour of prime time programming on WIBW-TV. Included are both programs and commercials (local and national). Plus, station identifications. Among the commercials are spots for Southwest Bell, Merchants National Bank, Pepsico, and Ohse Meats.

Until 1967, WIBW-TV served as the ABC, CBS, and NBC affiliate for Topeka. Unable to broadcast every program from all three networks, the station got to cherry pick what it aired.

On July 31st, 1967, it carried Family Affair live at 9:30PM ET/8:30PM CT for CBS, then switched to The Big Valley at 10PM ET/9PM CT for ABC. WIBW-TV recorded Coronet Blue at 10PM ET/9PM CT for CBS for later playback on Thursday, August 3rd, 1967.

Could the remaining pages from the July 31st, 1967 log still exist? Perhaps somewhere in the basement of WIBW-TV? I haven’t asked. But I assume most TV stations destroyed or discarded their programs logs from the 1960s decades ago.


3 Comments

Leave a Reply to Bill McDonnell Cancel reply